Things my kids have actually said


Here are some things our kids have ACTUALLY said, sometimes in public…

9 Year old: Goes into a store – bored – pulling random faces
Sales Person: You shouldn’t do that dear, if the wind changes, your face will stay like that!
9 Year old: Is that what happened to you?

Me: Eating copious amounts of chewy sweets one weekend
9 Year old: Mom, you are eating too many sweets and it is not good for you. I am taking these away from you…
Me: Speechless…
9 Year old: Takes my sweets away

Adult: Why are you behaving like this?
5 Year old: I am being mean to you because I don’t like your hair…

Dad: Smoking his cigarette
9 Year old: Dad, I wish you would stop cigaretting for a week… no, for life!

5 Year old: What is hell?
Me: Hell is where the Devil lives and heaven is where God lives.
5 Year old: Can we visit God?
Me: Only when your dead.
5 Year old: Why?
Me: Dead people go to heaven
5 Year old: No they don’t. They become bones and go in the ground!
Me: But what happens to your soul?
5 Year old: It goes into a young person, like a baby in a Mummy’s tummy

9 Year old: Mom, did you give my basket to my sister?
Me: Yes
9 Year old: BUT MOM, that is mine!
Me: (Feeling really bad) I’m sorry, please forgive me! How can I make it up to you?
9 Year old: Can I play Play Station?
Me: Yes

Next day…

9 Year old: Mom, when you said you wanted to make it up to me yesterday, I should have asked for a hamster.
Me: (Shew, huge sigh of relief. Totally dodged a bullet there – mental note made!)

Sometimes my kids are just right about seemingly complex issues. It catches me off guard every time!

When kids are right you just can’t argue with that!

What do you have to say...

